The bear and the nightingale : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Del Rey, [2017].
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
ISBN
9781101885932, 1101885939
Physical Desc
322 pages ; 25 cm
Accelerated Reader
IL: UG - BL: 5 - AR Pts: 14
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Manchester City Library - Fiction - Main Floor - Fiction ShelvesFICTION ARDEN, K.Checked OutJune 7, 2024
LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Amherst - Fiction - MezzanineFIC Arden, KOn Shelf
Bedford - Fiction - Sci Fi & FantasySF Arden #1On Shelf
Derry - Fiction - Adult LevelFantasy Arden, Katherine BearOn Shelf
Hooksett - Fiction - Adult RoomFIC ARDEN, K v.01On Shelf
Kelley Library - Fiction - Fiction Stacks 15-18FIC ARDEN WINTER #1On Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Details

Published
New York : Del Rey, [2017].
Edition
First edition.
Language
English
ISBN
9781101885932, 1101885939
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5, 14 Points

Notes

Description
"A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales."--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Arden, K. (2017). The bear and the nightingale: a novel (First edition.). Del Rey.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. 2017. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel. Del Rey.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel Del Rey, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel First edition., Del Rey, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.